The civil/criminal division of the Washtenaw County Trial Court is the 22nd Circuit Court of general jurisdiction in Washtenaw County, and oversees all matters within its statutory authority occurring within the county.  Generally speaking, the civil/criminal division has original jurisdiction in all civil cases involving more than $25,000, and in all criminal cases where the offense involves a felony or certain serious misdemeanors. All criminal matters that have a maximum punishment over a year will be resolved or finalized in the circuit court. There are exceptions to this generalized statement. Moreover, all criminal matters with a maximum punishment under one-year will be resolved in a district court located within the county. The Washtenaw County District Courts are listed below the Circuit Court information.

22nd Circuit Court (C22)

Serving Washtenaw County

101 E. Huron

Ann Arbor, MI 48107

Phone: (734) 222-3270

Sitting Judges:

Honorable David S. Swartz, Chief Judge

Honorable Archie Cameron Brown, Circuit Judge

Honorable Patrick J. Conlin, Jr., Circuit Judge

Honorable Timothy P. Connors, Circuit Judge

Honorable Carol Anne Kuhnke, Circuit Judge

All of the District Court located within the County will handled all criminal misdemeanors occurring within their corresponding city or municipal jurisdiction. This means that a criminal offense occurring in Ypsilanti will not be handled in the City of Ann Arbor (15th) District Court. It is also important to note that the 14A District Court handles all criminal misdemeanor matters occurring within the County except for the City of Ann Arbor and Township of Ypsilanti, which is noted below. Again it is important to understand that the District Court will handle certain procedural hearings involving felony criminal matters and serious misdemeanors, but that does not necessarily mean the District Court has jurisdiction over the criminal matter. You should always hire a criminal defense attorney when charged with a criminal matter (felony or misdemeanor).

14A District Court (D14A)

Serving Washtenaw County, except the City of Ann Arbor and the Township of Ypsilanti

415 W. Michigan Ave.

Ypsilanti, MI 48197

Phone: (734) 484-6690

Sitting Judge: Honorable Kirk W. Tabbey

14B District Court (D14B)

Serving Township of Ypsilanti

Ypsilanti Township Civic Center

7200 S. Huron River Drive

Ypsilanti, MI 48197

Phone: (734) 483-1333

Sitting Judge: Honorable Charles Pope

15th District Court (D15)

Serving City of Ann Arbor

Justice Center

301 E. Huron

Ann Arbor, MI 48104

(734) 794-6759

Sitting Judges: Honorable Joseph F. Burke, Chief Judge; Honorable Elizabeth Pollard Hines; Honorable Karen Q. Valvo